League of Humane Voters of New Jersey Election Info and Endorsements


Each LOHV-NJ endorsed candidate was graded according to his or her voting record or recent political assurances. Generally, we do not endorse candidates unless they have GOOD, GREAT, or EXCELLENT voting records. 


Senator Ellen Karcher, Assemblyman Mike Panter, and Amy Mallet - DEFEATED

Legislative District 12

Colts Neck Township, East Windsor Township, Englishtown Borough, Fair Haven Borough, Freehold Borough, Freehold Township, Hightstown Borough, Little Silver Borough, Manalapan Township, Marlboro Township, Millstone Township, Oceanport Borough, Red Bank Borough, Shrewsbury Borough, Shrewsbury Township, Tinton Falls Borough

Senator Loretta Weinberg - WINNER

Legislative District 37

Bergenfield Borough, Bogota Borough, Englewood City, Englewood Cliffs Borough, Hackensack City, Leonia Borough, Maywood Borough, Palisades Park Borough, Ridgefield Park, Rochelle Park Township, Teaneck Township, Tenafly Borough

Senator Joseph Vitale- WINNER

Legislative District 19

Carteret Borough, Perth Amboy City, Sayreville Borough, South Amboy City, Woodbridge Township

Assemblyman Reed Gusciora and Assemblywoman Bonnie Watson Coleman - WINNERS

Legislative District 15

Ewing Township, Hopewell Borough, Hopewell Township, Lawrence Township, Pennington Borough, Princeton Borough, Princeton Township, Trenton City

Assemblywoman Joan Voss and Assemblyman Robert Gordon (who is running for the Senate seat) - WINNERS

Legislative District 38

Cliffside Park Borough, Edgewater Borough, Elmwood Park Borough, Fair Lawn Borough, Fort Lee Borough, Hasbrouck Heights Borough, Little Ferry Borough, Lodi Borough, Paramus Borough, Ridgefield Borough, Saddle Brook Township, South Hackensack Township, Teterboro Borough

Former Assemblyman Anthony Chiappone- WINNER

Legislative District 31

Bayonne City, Jersey City (partial)

NOTE: In 2010, Chiappone pleaded guilty to filing false campaign finance reports and was forced to give up his Assembly seat. On September 17, 2010, he was sentenced to one year of probation and fined $5,000 for filing false reports with the New Jersey Election Law Enforcement Commission (ELEC).

Assemblyman Thomas Giblin - WINNER

Legislative District 34

Clifton City, East Orange City, Glen Ridge Township, Montclair Township, West Paterson Borough

Assemblyman Upendra Chivukula - WINNER

Legislative District 17

Franklin Township, Highland Park Borough, Milltown Borough, New Brunswick City, North Brunswick Township, Piscataway Township

Assemblyman Vincent Prieto - WINNER

Legislative District 32

East Newark Borough, Fairview Borough, Harrison Town , Jersey City (partial), Kearny Town, North Bergen Township, Secaucus Town

Assemblywoman Nilsa Cruz-Perez- WINNER

Legislative District 5

Audubon Borough, Barrington Borough, Bellmawr Borough, Brooklawn Borough, Camden City, Deptford Township, Gloucester City, Haddon Heights Borough, Hi Nella Borough, Lawnside Borough, Magnolia Borough, Mount Ephraim Borough, Runnemede Borough, Somerdale Borough, Stratford Borough, Westville Borough, Woodbury City, Woodbury Heights Borough, Woodlynne Borough

Monmouth Dem Freeholder candidates D’Amico (WINNER) and Schueler (DEFEATED)